KPCC Chief lambasts BJP

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Udupi,Karnataka Jan 20 (UNI) KPCC President Mallikarjun Kharge today charged the BJP with criticising Karnataka Governor Rameshwar Thakur who was the Constitutional head of the State.

Inaugurating the Congress' ''Janandholan'' programme' here, Mr Kharge claimed Former Deputy Chief Minister B S Yeddiurappa had 'even today commented Mr Thakur was acting as Congressman' which was deeply condemnable.

''Even during the Janata Dal-BJP Coalition Government Rule, we never criticised the role of the then Governor T N Chaturvedi,'' he said.

Commenting on the charges made by Mr Yeddiurappa and other BJP leaders, he said the Congress was ready to face elections to the State Assembly any time but was only insisting the Election Commission revise the voters list before polls as the present list included the names of 'several thousand bogus voters, which was prepared at the instance of the BJP.' He alleged both JD(S) and BJP leaders were trading charges exposing the corruption committed by each other.

While all development works were implemented during the Congress rule in the state, Mr Yeddiurappa claimed credit for all the achievements.

He promised if his party came to power in next Assembly Elections, it would not only provide houses to all 15 lakh homeless families in the state but also waive loan amount of Rs 10,000 under Ashraya Housing Scheme.

The party would also provide loans at three per cent to poor people and revive all welfare programmes for weaker sections, including Rs three per kg rice.

He also charged the BJP with exploiting and dividing the people by playing religion and caste cards.

Former Chief Minister and Chairman of Administrative Reform Commission Veerappa Moily, who spoke, said the party was committed to complete the unfinished agenda of industrialisation of the undivided district which had been ''totally affected due to increased incidents of violence, crime and corruption during the 20-month rule of the coalition government.' Union Ministers Oscar Fernades and M V Rajashekaran, Former Union Minister B Janardhan Poojary and Former Minister D K Shivakumar were among those who addressed the meeting.


Please Wait while comments are loading...