AICC forms four committees for Tripura Congress

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Agartala, Jan 16: In a bid to minimise factional squabble in the Tripura Pradesh Congress Committee(TPCC) ahead of assembly elections, the AICC today formed four committees with senior party leaders.

TPCC spokesperson Ratan Chakraborty informed the media here today that former chief minister Sudhir Ranjan Majumder had been made the chairman of the Election Committee to look after all poll related matters.

The AICC has announced three other committees--Co-ordination, Manifesto and Alliance--for finalising the shape of alliance with a few other non-left regional parties, Mr Chakraborty said.

A 12-member Co-ordination Committee has also been formed with AICC general secretary Prithwiraj Chavan as chairman and PCC president Samir Ranjan Barman as convener.

He said the committees would start functioning from today and the process of nominations would be finalised in a day or two so that the entire list, including allotment of seats to alliance partners, could be settled and announced latest by January 22.

''We have already finalised the alliance though dispute over allocation of certain seats remains. But it will be settled by the party high command within two or three days,'' Mr Chakraborty said.

He, however, added that Union Minister for Heavy Industries Santosh Mohan Deb had been invited by AICC President Sonia Gandhi for a discussion over the election in Tripura.


Please Wait while comments are loading...