Indian motorsports champs honoured

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Jan 12 (UNI) Indian drivers are slowly but surely making a mark on the international motorsports scene that augurs well for the future of the sports in the country, said Nazir Hoosein, President of the Motorsports Association of India at the annual prize distribution function held here.

Nazir was referring to the likes of Narain Karthikeyan, Karun Chandok, Armaan Ebrahim, Gauravsingh Gill, Aditya Patel, Naren Kumar. All of them hold MAI international licences and are participating in competitions abroad.

Nazir also expressed satisfaction on the manner in which the sport is being conducted by the MAI in the country, adhering to all the FIA regulations as stipulated.

He also said that serious efforts are on to unite the two bodies involved in motorsports, the MAI and the FMSCI, into one entity and assured the audience that the merger is a strong possibility before April 1.

Hoosein, however, added that all the good work done by MAI would not be washed away but, would continue in the governance of the sport even after the merger.

Earlier, one minute silence was observed in the memory of MAI Administrator Robin Shroff, who passed away in an accident.

Hoosein said that from this year onwards, the INKC trophy would be named as the 'Robin Shroff Memorial Trophy', in his memory.

The 2007 season of the Motorsports Association of India saw Gaurav Singh Gill of Team MRF and Ameya Walawalkar of Mohite's Racing Academy dominating the rally and karting championships.

The year also saw the introduction of the MRF Racing Challenge, two rounds of which were successfully conducted at the Kari Memorial Speedway, Coimbatore.

Following are the winners: Indian National Rally Championship: Overall Champions: 1 Gaurav Singh Gill/Moosa Sherief 2 Arjun Rao Aroor/Satish Kumar Rajagopal 3 Lohith V URS/Jaidas Menon GYPSY CUP : 1 Suresh Rana/H S Bawa 2 Surendra Babu SV/Sheraz Ahmed 3 Kamaljit Virdi/Manoj Kumar.

RALLY STAR CUP: 1 Mazdayar Vatcha/Madhu KC 2 Abhijeet Pai/Prajal Pai 3 Arvind J/S M Bharath.

1101-1400CC Class: 1 Amittrajit Ghosh/Sourabh Chaudhary 2 Pritvi Dominic/Chandrashekar M 3 S Sujay/Jeevara Thinam.

1401-1600CC Class: 1 Arjun Rao Aroor/Satish Kumar Rajagopal 2 Philippos Mathai/Vivek Bhatt 3 Rahul Kanthraj/Ashwin Naik.

MRF-MAI Indian National Karting Championship: INKC SENIOR: 1 Ameya Walavalkar 2 Rounak Patil 3 Audumber Hede.

INKC Jr: 1 Nikhil Kashyap 2 Abha Mankar 3 Vikas Anand ROTAX Jr: 1 Chittesh Mandody 2 Nikhil Kashyap 3 Vishnu Prasad ROTAX MINI MAX: 1 Arjun Maini 2 Druv Mohite 3 Suriya Raguram ROTAX SENIOR: 1 Rayomand Banajee 2 Rounak Patil 3 Samak Shah TEAM TROPHY : 1 Mohite's Racing Academy (Kolhapur); 2 Speed Rayo Racing (Mumbai); 3 Team Avalanche.

MRF Racing Challenge: STAR CUP: 1 Mazdayar Vatcha 2 Deepak Paul Chinnappa 3 Chetan Shivram INDIAN OPEN: 1 Cyrus 2 Radha Selvaraj 3 Subhash Chandra Bose GROUP N: 1 B VijayKumar 2 Amittrajit Ghosh 3 S Sujay SUPER 1400: 1 Amittrajit Ghosh 2 Radha Selvaraj 3 Subhash Chandra Bose.

SUPER 1600: 1 Arjun Balu 2 Lohith V Urs 3 Karandip Singh Sandhu SUPER 2000: 1 Gaurav Singh Gill 2 Lohith V Urs 3 Navaz Sandhu GT CARS: 1 Reyaz Farook 2 Nadeera Jinasena 3 Arvinda Premadasa J K Tyre National Racing Championship: Formula Rolon Chevrolet: 1 Aditya Patel 2 Saran Vikaram T Mars 3 Rayomond Banajee.

Formula LGB Hyundai: 1 Ashwin Sundar 2 Rayomond Banajee 3 S Narendran.

Overall Formula LGB Swift: 1 Ashwin Sundar 2 Kartik Shankar 3 Saran Vikaram T Mars.

Vehicle Preparation Award: J Anand.

Most promising novice driver: Byram F Godrej Event of the year: WISA Rally of Maharashtra.


Please Wait while comments are loading...