Prominent leaders to be affected by delimitation in Raj

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jaipur, Jan 11: The implementation of the Delimitation Commission's recommendation will affect constituencies of several prominent leaders in Rajasthan.

BJP MP and Bollywood actor Dharmendra, young Congress MP Sachin Pilot, former BJP president Bangaru Laxman's wife Sushila Bangaru and Union Minister Namo Narain Meena are to get affected if the Commission's recomendations are applied and these leaders will have to search for their new bastons.

There are total 25 Parliamentary constituencies in Rajasthan. According to the new delimitation four new constituencies are being created and as many other will cease to exist. In this way total number of parliamentary constituencies will remain the same but the nature and category of the constituencies would be changed.

Actor Dharmendra presently holds the Bikaner seat on a BJP ticket. This general seat is proposed to be put in reserved category and accordingly ''Garam Dharam'' if interested to seek another term for the lower house will have to search for a new constituency in the next elections.

Similarly, Sachin Pilot's Dausa seat which presently is a general constituency is also being put in the reserved category in the new delimitation and therefore the young Congress MP has to look for his new politcal base.

Sacked BJP president Bangaru Laxman's wife Sushila Bangaru had won the last election from Jalore(SC) but now in the new delimitation this seat is being converted into a general one. Union Minister of State for Forests Namo Narain Meena's Sawai Madhopur(ST) is being reorgnaised merging it in areas of Tonk for creation of new general consituency--Sawai Madhopur-Tonk.

Among other leaders Bharatpur's former Yuvraj Vishwendra Singh(Bharatpur), BJP Mahila Morcha chief Kiran Maheshwari(Udaipur), former Rajasthan Home Minister and BJP national vice president Kailash Meghwal(Tonk-SC) would also be affected due to new delimitation.

In Rajasthan Assembly too, a large number of sitting MLAs including several ministers including Industries Minister Digmabar Singh, Cooperative Minister Nathu Singh Gurjar and Water Resources Minister Sanwar Lal Jat would be affected in delimitation.

The number of reserved seats for ST and SC will also go up by one each in the new delimitation. Presently 33 of the 200 assembly seats are reservesd for SCs and 24 for the STs.


Please Wait while comments are loading...