Aizawl district has new 5,185 voters

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Aizawl, Jan 11 (UNI) Aizawl district has recorded an overall increase of voters by 2.37 per cent with Aizawl West II constituency seeing the highest percentage increase of 3.92 per cent from its previous rolls, according to electoral rolls summary revision 2008.

In a statement issued by District Election Officer C Thanchhuma here today, the photo electoral rolls revision started in October last year and verification of voters was carried out during November 17 and December 7 last. The latest photo electoral rolls would become available for public scrutiny from today.

According to the DEO, there are now 2,23,595 voters within Aizawl district which is a 2.37 per cent increase from the last number of voters. New additions totaled 8,325 while there were 3,140 deletions. The increase in terms of individual voters is 5,189.

''While every effort had been taken to provide each voter with an electoral photo identity card, there are still 20.19 per cent of voters without EPIC in Aizawl district. Every person whose name appears in the electoral rolls are expected to have an EPIC and those still not in possession of one are requested to stand by and wait for announcements when photographs would be taken,'' the statement said. It also warned that those who refuse to have their photographs taken would eventually be deleted from the rolls.

The statement also pointed out that with permission from the Election Commission of India, initiatives had been taken to create 45 new polling stations within the district and that with this addition, the number of polling stations in Aizawl district had been increased from 208 to 253.

Of the 40 assembly constituencies in the state, Aizawl district has 13 constituencies which are Saitual, Suangpuilawn, Ratu, Sateek, Tlungvel, Aizawl North I and North II, Aizawl East l and II, Aizawl West I and II and Aizawl South I and II.

The highest concentration of voters is found in Aizawl West II constituency which has 24,260 voters followed by Aizawl North II with 23,157 voters. Suangpuilawn, with 8,590 voters has the least number of voters among the constituencies in the district. Of the constituencies in the state capital Aizawl East two with 14,198 voters has the least number of voters followed by Aizawl East I with 16,693 votes.

Aizawl District Election Authority has also created 45 more polling stations under Aizawl district to add to the existing 208 polling stations as per the permission of the Election Commission of India. This is to meet requirements of growing number of voters.


Please Wait while comments are loading...