Malik, Reddy and Sitaram enter quarters of ITF Juniors

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Jan 10 (UNI) Top seed B Vikram Reddy, third seed Sitaram Budhanwa and fourth seed Vijayant Malik moved into the boys singles quarter-finals of the India ITF Junior (Grade 3) Tennis Tournament at the floodlit CLTA Stadium in Sector 3 here tonight.

Executing his shots with perfection and right direction, Vijayant Malik of Chandigarh Lawn Tennis Association enjoyed a total control over 16th seeded Phaninthon Pakpoomkamol of Thailand whom he routed in straight sets 6-1, 6-1.

Top seed with a ranking of 171st, Reddy ended the challenge of wild card and 13th seed Parul Verma of CLTA. Paurl fought well but that was not enough for him to extricate from the jaws of death and Reddy won 6-4 and 7-6. Third seed Sitaram dumped unseeded Ashok Wagh in straight sets 6-4, 6-4.

In the girls singles third round encounter top seed Nicha Lertpitaksinchai of Thailand, fifth seed Tanvi Shah and second seed Russian Anna Rapoport moved into quarter-final in the girls singles. Nicha proved too good for 14th seed Maria Meliuk of Belarus 6-0, 6-4 and Tanvi Shah outclassed unseeded Shweta Rana 6-2, 6-0.

However, second seed Anna Rapoport of Russia struggled to get the better 15th seed Prang Pantusart of Thailand. The Thai player started with a bang as she won the first set without dropping even a single game at 6-0. However, Anna took time to settle down and won the next two sets with ease at 6-2, 6-2.

Earlier, Sharmada Balu pulled off a mild surprise as she shocked third seeded Sonia Dayal (Ind) 7-5, 7-6 (2) in an interesting girls singles second-round match.

Results: Boys U-18 (third round): Reddy B Vikram (Ind) bt Parul Verma (Ind) 6-4, 7-6 (1), Sitaram Sudanwa (Ind) bt Akash Wagh (Ind) 6-4, 6-4, Vijayant Malik (Ind) bt Phaninthon Pakpoomkamol (Tha) 6-1, 6-1.

Boys U-18 singles (2nd round): Lewis Barnes (Gbr) (9) bt Ben Mclachlan (Nzl) 7-5, 7-5, Vinay Kamineni (Ind) bt Chandril Sood (Ind) (7) 6-4, 5-7, 6-4, Kaza Vinayak Sharma (Ind) bt Ivan Kobzar (Blr) (11) 6-7 (4), 6-4, 6-4, Christopher Marquis (Ind) (6) bt Shantanu Rajput (Ind) 6-3, 1-6, 7-6 (2), Riki Mclachlan (Nzl) (12) bt Lakshit Sood (Ind) 6-3, 7-6 (6), Phaninthon Pakpoomkamol (Tha) (16 bt Naveen Sai (Ind) 6-3, 6-2, Vijayant Malik (Ind) (4) bt Chun-Ming Yam (Hkg) 6-0, 6-0, Faris Akhazzan (Gbr) (8) bt Veera Vasanth S Venkatesh (Ind) 6-0, 6-2, Roman Piftor (Uzb) (10) bt Digvijay Singh (Ind) 6-2, 7-5, Mandeep Yadav (Ind) bt Shiva Sangwan (Ind) (14) 6-2, 5-7, 6-1, Joachim Sternbach (Fra) (2) bt Botir Sapaev (Uzb) 6-1, 6-0, James Richardson (Gbr) (5) bt Giorgi Khmiadashvili (Geo) 6-1, 6-1.

Girls singles (q-finals): Nicha Lertpitaksinchai (Tha) bt Maria Meliuk (Blr) 6-0, 6-4, Tanvi Shah (Ind) bt Shweta Rana (Ind) 6-2, 6-0, Anna Rapoport (Rus) bt Prang Pantubart (Tha) 0-6, 6-2, 6-2.

Girls (2nd round): Nicha Lertpitaksinchai (Tha) (1) by Daria Tuaeva (Uzb) 6-4, 6-2, Maria Meliuk (Blr) (14) bt Ratnika Batra (Ind) 7-6 (2), 6-7 (4), 6-3, Anastasiya Prenko (Tkm) (12) bt Sushma Gutta (Ind) 6-4, 6-2, Rashmi Teltumbde (Ind) (6) bt Prabhamrit Kaur (Ind) 6-1, 6-2, Sharmada Balu (Ind) bt Sonya Dayal (Ind) (3) 7-5, 7-6 (2), Anna Piven (Ukr) (11) bt Noor Paul (Ind) 6-0, 6-4, Margarita Lazareva (Rus) (8) bt Prerana-Mythri Appineni (Ind) 6-1, 6-4, Tanvi Shah (Ind) (5) bt Arantxa Andrady (Ind) 6-0, 6-0, Shweta Rana (Ind) bt Gopika Kapoor (Ind) (10) 4-6, 6-3, 6-0, Ting-Fei Juan (Tpe) by Inayat Khosla (Ind) (13) 6-4, 6-0, Satjaporn Mahajaroenkul (Tha) (4) bt Sanjana Sharon Paul (Ind) 6-1, 6-1, Prang Pantusart (Tha) (15) bt Mohana Chintala (Ind) 6-2, 6-2, Anna Rapoport (Rus) (2) bt Tanvi Gupta (Ind) 6-2, 6-1, Ashvarya Shrivastava (India ) (15) bt Garima Vatani 6-1, 3-6, 6-1, Sevil Alieva (Azb) (7) bt Prachi Nadkarni (Ind) 6-4, 6-3, Rishika Sunkara (Ind) (16) bt Treta Bhattacharyya (Ind) 7-6 (3), 6-2.


Please Wait while comments are loading...