Jharkhand, 4 NE states not covered under delimitation:Cabinet

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 10 (UNI) The Centre today decided to go in for an Ordinance to enforce the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission on the redrawing of Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies in all the states, except Jharkhand and four North-Eastern states -- Assam, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland.

In the North-Eastern states, the delimitation exercise could not be completed because of local resentment and a court stay, while in Jharkhand the number of reserved constituencies was being sought to be reduced which was against the government policy, Information and Broadcasting Minister Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi told reporters.

The decision was taken at a Cabinet meeting, chaired by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

The Ordinance, which would have to be approved by the President, would cover 24 states where the exercise had been completed.

Asked whether Karnataka would have Assembly elections, expected in about five months, in redrawn constituencies, he said the Election Commission had the authority in this regard.

The Cabinet also approved another Ordinance proposal to enable the Railways to acquire land expeditiously for railway projects. A Bill would be introduced in Parliament during the Budget Session of Parliament to replace the Ordinance, Mr Dasmunsi said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...