Australia stick to same squad for third Test against India

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Sydney, Jan 10 (UNI) Australia have retained the same squad for the third Test against India which starts at Perth on Wednesday.

Although the host played three fast bowlers and a spinner in the first two Tests, speedster Shaun Tait is in for a chance to break into the side at the expense of wrist spinner Brad Hogg.

The chinaman faces a possible ban after being charged for using abusive language in the second Test. But on the bouncy WACA pitch Australia may go for an extra pacer.

Opening batsman Matthew Hayden retained his spot despite his injury troubles during the second Test in Sydney.

Hayden strained his hamstring during the second Test in Sydney and needed a runner in order to compile his century in the second innings.

Chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said Hayden's fitness would be reviewed in the lead-up to the match.

Australia squad: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Phil Jaques, Michael Hussey, Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Brad Hogg, Brett Lee, Mitchell Johnson, Stuart Clark, Shaun Tait.


Please Wait while comments are loading...