2 GMP MLAs withdraw petition in SC against Goa Speaker's ruling

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 7 (UNI) Two Maharashtravadi Gomantak Party (GMP) MLAs today withdrew their petition in the Supreme Court against the decision of Goa Speaker Pratap Singh Rane debarring them from voting during the floor test in state Assembly last year.

A bench comprising Chief Justice K G Balakrishnan and Justices R V Raveendran and J M Panchal today permitted Ramakrishna alias Sudin Dhavalikar and his brother Pandurang Dhavalikar to withdraw their petitions as the same has become infructuose.

Goa Chief Minister Digambar Kamat was directed by the State Governor to prove his majority on the floor of the House on July 31 last year following the withdrawl of support by the two MLAs.

Congress MLA Agnel Fernandes lodged a compliant with the Speaker seeking disqualification of the two MLAs under the Anti-Defection Law.

Speaker of the Assembly Pratap Singh Rane restrained the two MLAs from participating in the voting of the no-confidence motion against the Kamat government and Mr Digambar Kamat succeeded in proving his majority on thr floor of the House.

The two petitioners challenged the order of the Spearker alleging that he had played fraud on the Constitution as the Governor's orders only directed him to conduct the trial of strength but he, with ulterior motives, debarred the two GMP MLAs from voting to help the Chief Minister win the vote of confidence.


Please Wait while comments are loading...