UP wins women's cricket championship

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow, Jan 5 (UNI) Uttar Pradesh girls gave a New Year Bonanza to UP Women's Cricket Association, under which the 16th All India Indira Gandhi Priyadarshni Memorial Cricket Tournament was played here, by winning the championship today at the K D Singh Babu Stadium beating Maharashtra by 17 runs.

UP won this championship for the first time in its 16 year history.

Prior to this, UP girls had won Sub Jr National at Meerut in September and Chandra Tripathi Inter zonal (central zone) at Ferozabad in October last allotted by Women's Cricket Association of India.

After the conclusion of the championship, Sonali of Maharashtra was adjusted as the best batswomen, Tanvi Tanke (Mah) best bowler and Naina Verma (UP) beat all rounder of the tournament.

Desh Deepak Verma, Principal secretary cooperatives gave away the prizes.

Earlier in the morning Maharashtra won the toss and elected to field first, taking the advantage UP girls started well by putting 29 runs for the opening wicket and at the end of the innings they scored 144 runs in the stipulated 35 overs losing all their wickets.

Skipper Komal Hora (34), Shivangi (32) were the main scorers, Preeti Jadhav (3/30), Tanvi Takne (2/33) and Madhura Thomre (2/34) were the successful bowlers for Maharashtra.

In reply the Maharashtra girls too started well but their middle order batswomen collapsed in front of accurate bowling of the host girls.

Batswomen of the tournament, Sonali, struck 35 with the help of 5 bounderies, while Varsha and Robina contributed 17 and 13 runs respectively.

Farhat Jahan and Vaishali Tyagi scalped two wicket apiece at a cost of 24 and 29 runs respectively for the winning team.

UP won the final by 17 runs.


Please Wait while comments are loading...