Somnath to lead 9-member delegation to Cuba

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 5: Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee will leave for Cuba today with a nine-member Indian Parliamentary delegation on a five-day visit starting tomorrow. According to a release issued by Lok Sabha secretariat here, this is the first visit by any Parliamentary delegation from India to Cuba in 19 years. During the visit, Mr Chatterjee will inaugurate the Rabindranath Tagore Library at Asia House, Havana.

The other members of the delegation include Mr Anant Geete, Dr Sujan Chakraborty, M S K Bhavani Rajenthiran, Dr Karan Singh Yadav, Kanjibhai Patel and Dr Barun Mukherjee, all Members of Parliament, and Lok Sabha Secretary General P D T Achary. Bal Shekar, Joint Secretary, Lok Sabha Secretariat, will be the Secretary to the delegation.

During its visit to Cuba, the delegation will have wide ranging discussions with President of the national Assembly Ricardo Alarcon De Quesada, Felipe Perez Roque, Minister of Foreign Relations, Fernando Remirez de Estenoz, Head of the International Relations, Department of the Central Committee and Member of the Secretariat of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Cuba and Carlos Lage Davila, Vice-President of the Council of State and Secretary of the Executive Committee of the Council of Ministers.


Please Wait while comments are loading...