21st South Zone acquatic championship from Jan 9

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Jan 5 (UNI) Over 450 swimmers from five Southern States will vie for top honours in Vijaya and Harnaamdas Kapoor 21st South Zone age group acquatic championship for boys and girls, which would be held here from January nine to 11.

Karnataka Swimming Association General Secretary Vijayaraghavan told newspersons today that Andhra Pradesh tops the list of swimmers having fielded a contingent of 115, followed by last year runner up in overall championship Karnataka (109), Kerala (95), Tamil Nadu (92) and Puduchery (45).

Competition would be held for four age groups. Group I 16 to 18 years, group II 14 to 16, group III 12 to 14 and group IV 10 to 12.

Expressing confidence of regaining the overall championship, Vijayaraghavan said ''Karnataka missed the trophy last year to Tamil Nadu due to busy schedule for swimmers, but this year I am confident of the State swimmers winning the title.'' UNI MSP GKT RAR HT1536

Please Wait while comments are loading...