JD(U) retains Bikramganj Lok Sabha seat

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Sasaram, Bihar, Jan 2 (UNI) The JD(U) retained the Bikramganj Lok Sabha seat with its party candidate and widow of JD(U) MP Ajit Singh, Meena Singh, defeating her nearest rival and RJD's Ashok Kumar Kushwaha by about 31,000 votes today.

Official sources here said Ms Singh got 1,58,000 votes, while Mr Kushwaha secured 1,27,000 votes in the December 29 by-election.

BSP candidate Baliram Mishra polled 55,000 votes, the sources added.

Polling for the Bikramganj Lok Sabha seat necessitated following the death of JD (U) MP Ajit Singh, who represented the constituency. Mr Singh was killed in a road accident in Siwan last year.

Altogether, 12 candidates, including JD(U) candidate Meena Singh, RJD's Ashok Kumar Kushwaha, CPI-ML's Arun Singh and Balram Mishra (BSP) were in the fray.


Please Wait while comments are loading...