Polling for Bikramganj Lok Sabha by-election begins

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Patna, Dec 29 (UNI) Polling for the by-election to the Bikramganj Lok Sabha constituency began on a peaceful note this morning amid tight security arrangements and shoot-at-sight orders.

Sources at the state headquarters said here the polling till now was peaceful and no untoward incident had so far been reported from any corner of the constituency.

The turnout of the voters was a bit thin during morning hours due to chilly winds blowing since yesterday.

The sources said foolproof security arrangements had been made for the polling. Besides district police force and BMP , 40 companies of paramilitary forces had been deployed at various polling booths for peaceful polling. Borders of the district had been sealed and all vehicles were being checked thoroughly.

Accoding to the sources, 60 per cent polling booths had been declared sensitive and hyper-sensitive where digital cameras had been installed to prevent tampering with electoral voting machines and to check rigging.

The sources said more than 13 lakh voters were exercising their franchise at 1434 polling booths to decide the political fate of 12 candidates, inclduing JD(U) candidate Meena Singh, RJD candidate Ashok Kumar Kushwaha, CPI(ML) candidate Arun Kumar Singh and BSP candidate Baliram Mishra.

Prominent leaders, who campaigned in favour of their party candidates, included RJD Chief and Railway Minister Lalu Prasad, JD(U) National president Sharad Yadav, BJP National general secretary and MP Shahnawaz Hussain, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister and BSP Chief Mayawati.

The by-election to the Bikramganj Lok Sabha constituency was necessitated following the death of JD(U) MP Ajit Singh, who was killed in a road accident in Siwan this year.


Please Wait while comments are loading...