Polling for Bikramganj by-election ends, 30pc votes polled

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Patna, Dec 29 (UNI) Polling for by-election to the Bikramganj Lok Sabha constituency in Bihar ended peacefully this evening with reports of 34 per cent voting, the election office said.

State Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Sudhir Kumar Rakesh told UNI here that the polling passed off peacefully.

He said about 34 per cent of over 1.3 million voters exercised their franchise.

Mr Rakesh said voters of booth no. 45 under Piro assembly segment boycotted the election in protest against non-development of their area. Only three votes were polled at booth no. 180 under the same assembly segment, informed Mr Rakesh.

As the polling process ended this evening, the fate of 12 candidates inclduing JD(U)'s Meena Singh, RJD nominee Ashok Kumar Kushwaha, CPI(ML) aspirant Arun Kumar Singh and BSP's Baliram Mishra were sealed in the EVMs.

Counting of votes would take place on January 2.

EDS pse pick up suitably from earlier series.


Please Wait while comments are loading...