Prof Rangappa and Prof D N Rao win Prof Y T Thathachar Award

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mysore, Dec 25 (UNI) Prof K S Rangappa of the Mysore University and Prof Desirazu Narasimha Rao of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore have shared this year's prestigious Prof Y T Thathachar Research award for Biological/Medical Sciences.

The award, to be presented soon, consists of memento, citation and cash prize of Rs one lakhs.

According to Trust sources distinguished Biotechnologist of All India Institute of Science Prof Tej P Singh headed the selection committee that included eminent Scientists and Medical professionals and most of them were fellows of the Indian National Academy of Sciences.

While Prof Rangappa's research had made original contribution in the area of Medicinal, Bioorganic and Physical Organic Chemistry.

His group have syntherized microceptor antagonists and ache inhibitors for the treatment of Alzheimer's disease, Prof Desirazu Narasimha Rao's work in the field of DNA-protein interactions provides excellent new pathways for research in potential pharmaceutical applications for treatment of many diseases like cancer and Alzheimer's disease.


Please Wait while comments are loading...