Guj, HP poll results not to influence CPI(M) stand on N deal

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Dec 22 (UNI) In a veiled threat to the Manmohan Singh government, the CPI(M) today said unequivocally it would continue to oppose the Indo-US nuclear cooperation deal irrespective of the Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh assembly election results.

At the end of three-day deliberations of the 85-party Central Committee, the CPI(M) top leaders Sitaram Yechury and M K Pandhe told a news conference the party maintained, from the very beginning, that certain provisions contained in the Nuclear Pact were deterimental to the nation's interests.

The Party CC meet, preceded by the Party 17-member Polit Bureau morning session at the party headquarters A K Gopalan Bhawan, was convened to finalise the Draft Political Resolution that is to be presented at the Party Congress being held in Coimbatore from March 29 to April 4.

Answering specific query if the Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh poll results would influence the party stand on the N-pact, Mr Yechury quipped,"These have nothing to do with our party stand. Why should it?" Earlier Mr Pandhe said the Party CC had also endorsed the party Polit Bureau stand that the Left would not allow the government to operationalise the deal irrespective of the consequences of such a decision.

To another question on the next UPA-Left Panel meet in the context of Indian officials, headed by Atomic Energy Commission Chairman Anil Kakodkar, holding discussions with the IAEA, Mr Yechury said, "They have to return to us and hold negotiations without any interference," adding at present, there were long Christmas vacations.

In reply to another related question, he said there was no time framework as such, however, emphasising that they would first talk to the Panel before deciding to operationalise or freeze the deal.

Party General Secretary Prakash Karat, West Bengal chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, Kerala chief minister V S Achuthanandan, West Bengal Left Front Chairman Bimon Bose, Party PB members - Ms Brinda Karat, S R Pillai, party Floor leaders in Parliament Basudeb Acharia and Mohammad Salim, and other promiment CC members- Nilotpal Basu, Joginder Sharma, Subhashni Ali, Balwant Singh and W R Varadhrajan also attended the deliberations.


Please Wait while comments are loading...