Huge response for HDIL National School Games Tennis

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Dec 20 (UNI) Leading youth tennis players from 17 states in the country will be seen in the Rs 2 lakh prize money, HDIL National School Games Tennis Tournament, 2008 which will be played from December 21 to 24 at the tennis courts of Hansraj Morarjee Public School, Andheri(West) here.

The event is being sponsored by HDIL and organised by the Sports and Youth Services, Government of Maharashtra under the auspices of the School Games Federation of India, it was announced at a press conference here today.

More than 700 students from 17 states will be vying for the titles up for grabs for boys and girls in the age groups of under-14, under-17 and under-19. There will be singles matches as well as team events.

Among the 17 states are Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Chattisgarh, Chandigarh, Delhi, Daman and Diu, Gujarat, Haryana, IPSC, Kendriya Vidyalaya Sanghatna, Karnataka, Kerala, MP, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu and Assam, the organisers said.

Host state Maharashtra will be fielding a strong contingent for this championship with representation in every category and is confident of coming away with a rich haul of awards.

Following is the Maharashtra contingent: Boys u-19: Rohit Shinde (Yashwantrao Mohite College, Pune); Himanshu Mali (Jijamata College, Buldhana); Shivraj Patil (Swami Vivekananda College, Kolhapur).

Girls u-19: Radhika Jadhav (D G Ruparel College, Mumbai); Apurva Makan (Ferguson College, Pune); Shradha Dali (Ruia College, Mumbai).

Boys u-17: Anuj Chajed (Rangubai Junior College, Nashik); Advait Sadvilkar (Delhi Public School, Pune) Dhananjay Chivte (P Joge School, Pune).

Girls u-17: Nupur Kaul (Jamnabai Narsee School, Mumbai); Anuja Makan (St Joseph's School, Pune); Madhuri Patere (Balmohan Vidyamandir, Mumbai).

Boys u-14: Vishal Passi (Hansraj Morarji School, Mumbai); Parth Shah (Jasudben M L School, Mumbai; Columbus Marquis (Poddar International School, Mumbai).

Girls u-14: Aryali Chauhan (S S M School, Satara); Gauri Baindoor (Lilavati Poddar School, Mumbai); Sanskruti Jhambhle (Shamrao Kalmadi High School, Pune).


Please Wait while comments are loading...