Top shutlers to vie for honours in Pramod Mahajan badminton tourney

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Dec 17 (UNI) Country's top shuttlers, including Anup Sridhar and Saina Nehwal, will be vyiing for honours in the Rs nine lakh prize money Pramod Mahajan All India Senior ranking Badminton tournament which will kick off from January 1.

Other stars who will be gracing the occasion are Chetan Anad, P Kashyap, Tripti Murgunde and Aditi Mutakar in the men's and women's singles respectively. While, Sanave Thomas, Rupesh Kumar, Jwala Gutta and Shruti Kurien will be sloging out for the title.

The event is organised by Pramod Mahajan Club (PMC) under the aegis of the Delhi Badminton Association (DBA). President of PMC Ravider Zutsi talking to reporters said,''Winners of the singles titles in both Men and Women's section will recieve a prize money of Rs 1,10,000, while their doubles counterpar will get 60 thousand each''.

Zuthi also said a total of 350 shutlers will take part in the event and the qualifying rounds will be held in the first and second January.

Adding that the tournament will carry the highest ever prize money and will form the basis for selection of the Indian team for the prestigious Thomas Cup and Uber Cup.

The event will start from January 1 to 6. Club's captain and and former cricketer Kirti Azad said,''Former All England champion Pullela Gopichand and former billiard champion Michael Ferrera will come in the finals of the tournament and give away the prizes.'' He also added ''We can arrange a International tournament of this magnitude if the Badminton Federation of India (BAI) gives them ther go ahead.'' Mens singles : Anoop Sridhar, Chetan Anand, P Kashyap, Anand Pawar, Ravinder Singh, Sachin Ratti, Arvind Bhatt, Ajay Jairam, Utsav Mishra, Rohan Castelino.

Women's singles : Saina Nehwal, Trupti Murgunde, Aditi Mutatkar, Aparna Balan, Dhanya Nair, B R Menakshi, V Ruth Mishra, Shruti Kurien, Parul Rawat, Sayali Gokhle.

Men's doubles : Sanave Thomas, Rupesh Kumar, Jose George, Jseel P Ismail, JayantJames, T Dinesh, Utsav Mishra, Ravinder Singh, Vineeth Manual, J B S Vidhyadhar.

Women's doubles : Jwala Gutta, Shruti Kurien, Aparna Balan, V Deepthi Priyadarshini, EDeepthi Shalini, Saumya Padhye, V Ruth Mishra, VJyothi Swarupa, Dhanya Nair, Parul Rawat.


Please Wait while comments are loading...