Shabbir bowls Chennai Superstars to 12-run victory

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Panckhula, DEC 16 (UNI) Thirty two years old right arm medium pacer from Pakistan, Shabbir Ahmed Khan exploited the conditions as he destroyed Chandigarh Lions innings with a sensational spell of 4-0-23-4 and bowled Chennai Superstars to an exciting 12-run victory in the final of the Indian Cricket League Twenty-20 Championship at the floodlit Tau Devi Lal Cricket Stadium in Sector 3 here on tonight.

Chasing a victory target of 156 for victory, Chandigarh Lions made 143 for 8. The eighth wicket pair of South African Andrew Hall (30 not out) and Sarabjeet Singh (23) realised 61 runs. However, their valiant efforts proved abortive as they fell short by 12 runs.

Watched by a packed holiday stadium, Shabbir dismissed Chandigarh Lions openers Imran Farhat (4) and Hamish Marshall (3). Both openers were caught by wicketkeeper Chris Read. With these early jolts, Chandigarh Lions were two wickets down for 19 runs after completion of three overs.

Shabbir, who has played 10 Tests and 32 one-day internationals for Pakistan, struck deadly blows again in the 13th over. With his first delivery of the 13th over, Shabbir bowled former Indian opener Dinesh Mongia (21, 14 balls, 3x4s) and trapped new comer Chetan Sharma (0) leg before wicket. Both wickets fell at 82. Lions were struggling at 82 for 6 after 12.2 overs. Andrew Hall denied Shabbir a hat-trick by playing the next delivery at cover. Ian Harvey then bowled captain Chris Cains (5) and Lions were reeling at 82 for 7 after 13.2 overs. Andrew Hall and Sarabjeet Singh played well and got 61 runs for the eighth wicket partnership. Harvey dismissed Sarabjeet with the last ball of the match.

Earlier, Chennai Superstars made 155 for 8 in 20 overs. Opener Ian Harvey (36, 5x4s), Chris Read (21), Hemang Badani (20), captain Stuart Law (34) were the main scorers. Chandigarh Lions Sarabjeet Singh ran out Ian Harvey, Chris Read and Vasanth Sarvanan (3) while Daryl Tuffey got two for 32.

CHENNAI SUPERSTARS: Ian Harvey run out (Sarabjeet Singh) 36 Ganapathi Vignesh c Tejinder Pal Singh b Daryl Tuffey 15 Chris Read run out (Sarabjeet Singh) 21 Russel Arnold c Chetan Sharma b D Mongia 5 Hemang Badani b D Tuffey 20 Stuart Law run out (Tejinder Pal Singh) 34 Rajagopal Sathish c Daryl Tuffey b Amit Uniyal 12 Vasanth Saravanan run out (Saratjeet Singh) 3 T. Kumaran not out 0 Extras (b 1, lb 4, nb 1, wd 3) 9.

Total (for eight wickets in 20.0 overs) 155.

Fall of wickets: 1-20, 2-63, 3-70, 4-83, 5-116, 6-148, 7-153, 8-155.

Bowling Andrew Hall 4-0-21-0 Daryl Tuffey 4-0-32-2 Amit Uniyal 3-0-22-1 Chris Cairns 3-0-38-0 Dinesh Mongia 4-0-19-1 Tejinder Pal Singh 2-0-18-0.

CHANDIGARH LIONS: Imran Farhat c Chris Read b Shabbir Ahmed 4 Hamish Marshall c C Read b Shabbir Ahmed 3 Tejinder Pal Singh c T Kumaran b G Vignesh 35 Manish Sharma c V Saravanan b T. Kumaran 4 Dinesh Mongia b Shabbir Ahmed 21 Chris Cairns b Ian Harvey 5 Chetan Sharma lbw Shabbir Ahmed 0 Andrew Hall not out 30 Sarabjeet Singh c G Vignesh b Ian Harvey 28 Extras (b 1, lb 2, nb 2, wd 8) 13.

Total (for 8 wkts in 20 overs) 143.

Fall of wickets: 1-6, 2-19, 3-30, 4-66, 5-82, 6-82, 7-82, 8-143.

Bowling Shabbir Ahmed 4-0-23-4 Ian Harvey 4-0-26-2 Tamil Kumaran 4-0-35-0 T. Kumaran 4-0-32-1 Ganapathi Vignesh 2-0-9-1 Rajagopal Sathish 2-0-15-0 UNI XC HS RAR VC2335

Please Wait while comments are loading...