Kullu Congress MLA contesting elections for tenth time

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Shimla, Dec 14 (UNI) Ishwar Dass, Congress candidate from Ani constituency of Kullu district of Himachal Pradesh, is the lone candidate who is contesting elections from the same constituency for the tenth time.

Mr Dass entered the electoral politics by first contesting elections from Ani (then known as outer Seraj) in 1967 and had mixed fortunes in successive elections.

The Congress legislator won the assembly elections seven times in 1967, 1972, 1977, 1985, 1993, 1998 and 2003, but lost in 1982 to Khub Ram of the BJP.

Though he did not contest the 1990 election, but he is again in the fray facing a new BJP rival Kishori Lal in a four cornered contest.

A low profile politician, Mr Dass was made minister of state for a brief spell and also remained deputy Speaker of Vidhan Sabha.

His sprawling constituency spreads from Banjjar area of Kullu to Rampur in Shimla district and large areas of constituency are contiguous to Rampur where the Chief Minister V B Singh wields considerable influence.

The picture is not very rosy for Dass this time and he is banking mainly on support from Ani and Nirmand areas where the Chief Minister would be crucial factor in determining his victory or defeat.

The constituency has 80,593 voters and the polling is generally between 60 to 65 per cent.

The inclement weather is causing worry to candidates in this constituency where snowfall was usual in high altitude areas in December.


Please Wait while comments are loading...