Chennai Superstars master Kolkata Tigers

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Panchkula, Dec 14 (UNI) The Chennai Superstars bowlers bowled with virtual mechanical precision and professional approach as they dismissed Kolkata Tigers to a paltry total of 74 and give their side an authoritative 93 runs in the first semi-final of the Indian Cricket League Twenty20 Championship at the floodlit Tau Devi Lal Sports Complex here tonight.

Chennai Superstars all-rounder Australian Ian Harvey (2 for 12), Tamil Kumaran (2 for 18), Thiru Kumaran (2 for 16) and all-rounder and Man of the Match Rajagopal Sathish (2 for 8) shared the bowling spoils. New ball bowler Shabbir Shmed got one for 5 from three overs.

Required to score 168 for victory, Kolkata Tigers' innings collapsed line a house of cards. They were skittled out for 74 in 15.3 overs. Only Abhishek Jhunjhunwala (18) and Anshu Jain (18) could reach the double-figure mark in a hopelessly one-sided and disappointing semi-final.

Earlier, opener Ian Harvey of Australia (23, 20 balls) and Chris Read of England (28, 18b, 4x4s) gave a good start by realising 50 runs for the second wicket stand.

Rajgopal Satish (51, 24 balls, 6x4s, 1x6) and Vasanth Saravanan (not out 24) were going strong as they were associated in a valuable 61-partnership for seventh wicket (104 for 6 to 165 for 7) before Chennai Superstars collapsed to 167 in 19.5 overs. They lost last four wickets in just seven deliveries for meagre two runs. In the fifth delivery of 19th over, McMillan (2 for 26) dismissed Satish who gave a top edge at long on to Abu Nechim. In the next delivery of McMillan, Tamil Kumaran (0) was run out byKlusener. At the same total Tamil Kumaran (0) was bowled Nantie Hayward.

Three deliveries later, Shabbir Ahmed was run out for 1 and the Superstars were all out for 167.

SCOREBOARD CHENNAI SUPERSTARS Ian Harvey b Abu Nechim 23 Ganapathi Vignesh c Abu Nechim b S Tarafdar 04 Chris Read lbw S Tarafdar 28 Russel Arnold run out (U Chandana) 02 Stuart Law st D Dasgupta b C McMillan 09 Hemang Badani run out (Abhishek Jhunjhunwala) 15 Rajagopal Sathish c Abu Nechim b C McMillan 51 Vasanth Saravanan not out 24 T. Kumaran run out (L Klusener) 00 Tamil Kumaran b N Hayward 00 Shabbir Ahmed run out (U Chandana) 01 Extras (b 4, w 6) 10 Total(all out in 19.5 overs) 167.

Fall of wickets: 113, 2-63, 3-65, 4-71, 5-78, 6-104, 7-165, 8-165, 9-165, 10-167.

Bowling Nantie Hayward 3.5-0-24-1 Sujay Tarafdar 4-0-28-2 Abu Nechim 4-0-38-1 Lance Klusener 4-0-30-0 Craig McMillan 3-0-26-2 Darren Maddy 1-0-17-0.

KOLKATA TIGERS: Darren Maddy c H Badani b S Ahmed 09 Deep Dasgupta c S Law b Tamil Kumaran 01 Abhishek Jhunjhunwala b Thiru Kumaran 18 Rajiv Kumar c Chris Read b R Sathish 08 Craig McMillan c T Kumaran b Thiru Kumaran 06 Lance Klusener c T. Kumaran b R Sathish 04 Anshu Jain c&b Ian Harvey 18 Upul Chandana run out (R Sathish) 01 Abu Nechim lbw b Ian Harvey 00 Sujay Tarafdar not out 02 Nantie Hayward c Stuart Law b Tamil Kumaran 00 Extras (b 1, lb 1, w 5) 07 Total (all out in 15.3 overs) 74.

Fall of wickets: 1-11, 2-12, 3-31, 4-42, 5-52, 6-70, 7-72, 8-72, 9-72, 10-74.

Bowling Shabbir Ahmed 3-1-5-1 Ian Harvey 3-1-12-2 Tamil Kumara 2.3-0-18-2 T. Ku 3-0-16-2 Rajagopal Sathish 2-0-8-2 Ganapathi Vignesh 2-0-13-0.


Please Wait while comments are loading...