Uthappa, Pankaj, Ignace Tirkey among 104 players feted

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Dec 13 (UNI) For the first time in the history of Karnataka sports, 104 sportspersons, including cricketers Robin Uthappa and Team India bowling coach B K Venkatesh Prasad, former World Billiards and Snooker champion Pankaj Advani and Ignace Tirkey (Hockey) were today honoured by the state government.

The players were feleciate with cash awards for their achievements in respective games. While Uthappa and Venkatesh Prasad (for their role in T20 World Cup win by India), Pankaj Advani (for winning World Billiards title), V R Raghunath (Hockey) received Rs five lakh each, A L Vikram Kanth, Ignace Tirkey and S V Sunil were given Rs two lakh each for their role in India retaining the Asian Cup title in Chennai recently. Indian hockey team Assistant Coach Ramesh Parameshwaran was given a cheque for Rs one lakh.

L Jayanthi (Kabadi) was given a cheque for Rs one lakh for winning gold in the second Asian Kabbadi Championship, held recently in Iran. K N Deepashree (Judo), Chetan Appaiah (Badminton), Dhanaraj Madhav (Roller Skating), Kavita Radhakrishnan (Athletics), Mangala Gouri (Roller Skating), Pooja Pai (Basketball), Raghunath Narayanaswamy (Power Lifting), Rajakiran Anumala (Swimming), Rajesh Somati (Volleyball), Ruksan Abhubakar (Basketball), Shalini Channappan (Basketball), Varun Shetty (Volleyball), Sharat M Gaekwad (Swimming) and Farman Bashan (Power Lifting) were paid Rs 10,000 each.

Besides, for the first time, the Department of Youth Services honoured the winners of Dasara Sports Meet with cash prizes.

Director General of Police and Commandant General of Home Guards Jija S Harisingh distributed the cheques. Speaking on the occasion, she said such prizes would be an incentive for the sportspersons to perform well in future events and bring laurels to the State and country.

Presiding over the function, Sports Authority of India (SAI), South Centre, Director Shyamsunder said introduction of cash prize for Dasara Meet winners would lead to attracting athletes from other states to participate in it and the Meet becoming a national event.


Please Wait while comments are loading...