Bangalore, Annamalai Varsities enter league phase

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Guntur, Dec 12 (UNI) Bangalore and Annamalai Universities entered the league phase in the men and women sections respectively of the South-West Zone Inter-university Netball Tournament being held at the Acharya Nagarjuna University (ANU) near here today.

In the second round matches, the Bangalore University beat Annamalai University, Anna Nagar 40-35, while Annamalai University was declared winner by the organisers after LNIPE, Gwalior failed to take part in the match.

In the men's section, University of Pune defeated Tumkur University 45-44, while host ANU was declared winner after it got a walk over from Thiruvalluvar University, Vellore. Osmania University, Hyderabad outwitted Karnataka University, Dharwad 54-33 to secure a berth in the league phase.

The other teams, which entered the league phase in the women's section included Osmania University and Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirapalli. The ANU was declared winner after Tamil Nadu Physical Education Sports University abstained from the match.

In the league matches, each team would play the other three teams in the men and women sections to decide the first, second and third places by virtue of points secured in the matches, tournament organisers told UNI

Please Wait while comments are loading...