Kashyap to clash with Anand Pawar for singles title

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Dec 11 (UNI) Top seed P Kashyap of Andhra Pradesh will clash with second seed Anand Pawar of Air India in the final of the Canara Bank Sponsored 3rd All India Senior Ranking Badminton Tournament.

In today's semifinal, Kashyap defeated Jishnu Sanyal of Air India 18-21, 21-8, 21-13, while Anand trounced Sagar Chopda of Maharashtra 21-16, 21-14.

In women section, top seed Trupti Murgunde of PSPB beat Gayatri Vartak of Maharashtra 21-17, 21-8. In the finals she meets second seed Aditi Mutatkar (Maharashtra), who defeated Ashwini Ponnappa of Karnataka 21-12, 21-16 in the semis.

In men's doubles semifinals, top seed Kerala pair Sanave Thomas and Rupesh Kumar got walkover. In the other semifinal Akshay Diwalkar of Air India and V Diju (Kerala) beat second seeded Jayan James and T Dinesh of Andhra Pradesh 21-16, 17-21, 21-13.

In women's doubles, top seed Aparna Balan (Kerala) pairing with Jyothsna (AP) lifted the Doubles title trouncing Kerala pair Saumya Padhya and Ruth Misha 21-10, 21-13.

Results: men's singles (semifinals): S1 P Kashyap (AP) bt Jishnu Sanyal (AI) 18-21,21-8,21-13; S2 Anand Pawar (AI) bt Sagar Chopda (Mah) 21-16,21-14.

Women's singles (semifinals): S1 Trupti Murgunde (Pet) bt Gayatri Vartak (Mah) 21-17,21-8; S2 Aditi Mutatkar (Mah) bt Ashwini Ponnappa (Kar) 21-12,21-16.

Women's doubles (finals): Aparna Balan/ Jyothsna (Ker/AP) bt Saumya Padhye/Ruth Misha (Kar) 21-18,21-15.

Men's doubles (SF): Sanave Thomas/Rupesh Kumar (Ker) bt Ram C Vijay/Utsav Mishra(Ker/AI) W/O. Akshay Dewalkar/V Diju (AI/Ker) bt Jayan James/ T Dinesh (AP) 21-16,17-21,21-13.


Please Wait while comments are loading...