Bangalore, Annamalai varsities in 2nd round

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Guntur, Andhra Pradesh, Dec 11 (UNI) Eves of Bangalore University and Annamalai University today moved to the second round of the three-day South-West Zone inter-university (men and women) netball tournament, at the Acharya Nagarjuna University near here, in contrasting styles.

In a first round match played under league-cum-knock out basis, Bangalore University was declared the winner after Thiruvalluvar University, Vellore, failed to turn up for the match, while Annamalai University defeated University of Pune 30-25 in a close encounter.

In the other matches, hosts Acharya Nagarjuna varsity crushed Karnataka State (W) University, Bijapur, 42-06 and Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirapalli, trounced Tumkur University 36-6 to secure a berth in the second round.

In the men's section, Karnatak University, Dharwad, moved to the second round after the organisers declared it the winner as LNIPE Gwalior team did not turn up.

Meanwhile, tournament Organising Secretary Y Kishore told UNI that the Acharya Nagarjuna University would also host the All India Inter-Zonal Inter-University tournament from December 14 to 17.

About 450 sportspersons were expected to take part in the tournament.


Please Wait while comments are loading...