UP, CRPF, CISF win their respective pool matches

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jalandhar, Dec 10 (UNI) On the third-day of the 56th All India Police Hockey Championship-2007, being organised by the Punjab Police at the Olympian Surjit Hockey Stadium here today, Uttar Pradesh, CRPF and CISF won their respective matches held in their pools.

In the first match, Uttar Pradesh defeated Madhya Pradesh by a margin of 7-1. In the first minute only, Ashraf Ali fired the first goal for MP, which was equalled by UP's Manish Gupta in the fourth minute by converted a penulty corner.

After the levelling the score, UP players hit the board with five field goals and one penalty corner in the 11th, 40th, 62nd, 66th, 67th and 43rd minutes respectively.

In another match, CRPF defeated Tamil Nadu by 4-1. Balkar Singh of the CRPF scored the first goal by converting a penalty corner in the 17th minute, While second, third and fourth goals were scored in the 34th, 37th and 65th minutes respectively. Raman scored the sole goal for Tamil Nadu by converting, penalty corner in the 52nd minute.

In the last match of the day, CISF blanked Uttrakhand by a huge margin of 9-1.

For CISF, Harish Sharma, Cykill Ekka, Paramvir and Jaipal Dahiya fired two field goals each in the 15th, 54th, 17th, 25th, 38th, 49th, 51st and 58th minutes respectively, while Bharat Kumar hit the board by converting a penalty corner in the 32nd minute. In all, 22 teams from all over the country consisting of 500 players of the national and international repute are participating in this championship.


Please Wait while comments are loading...