5 outstation teams for Bhide memorial hockey meet

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Pune, Dec 7 (UNI) Defending champions Maharashtra Krida Mandal, Kolhapur, are among five outstation outfits who will be vying for honours in the 4th edition of the Dr Avinash Bhide memorial state-level hockey tournament to be played here from December 9 to 16.

The meet is being organised by the Rakshak Sports Association (RSA). Association secretary Yashowardhan Pawar told reporters that the other four outstation teams are RCF-Mumbai, Central Raiway, Solapur District and Satara District. Last year's runners-up Bombay Sappers will miss the tourney as they are currently busy playing an all India tournament.

The RSA will be incurring a total expenditure of about Rs three lakh towards hosting the tourney, which will be played on knock-out basis. Besides the rolling trophies for the winners, runners-up and third placed team, trophies will also be awarded to best goal keeper, best back, best half, best forward and the ''player of the tournament'', Mr Pawar added. In addition, there will be ''man of the match'' awards for every match, and a ''lifetime achievement award'' for excellence in hockey and sports career.

Addition Commissioner of Police and Shiv Chhatrapati awardee Gulabrao Pol will formally inaugurate the championship while Maharashtra Minister for Co-operation Patangrao Kadam will be the guest of honour at the final prize distribution function.


Please Wait while comments are loading...