Australia announces 13-man squad for Chappell Hadlee Trophy

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Sydney, Dec 6 (UNI) Australia's National Selection Panel (NSP) included fast bowler Shaun Tait in their 13-man squad to take part in the Commonwealth Bank Chappell Hadlee Trophy against New Zealand starting from December 14.

Tait, who recovered from his injuries, was preferred over the more experienced Stuart Clark while all-rounder James Hopes retained his place after solid performances in the recent Future cup series in India.

Ricky Ponting will captain the side. The three-game Chappell-Hadlee series starts on December 14 in Adelaide with the other matches scheduled to be held on December 16 and 20 in Sydney and Hobart respectively.

Commenting on the squad, NSP Chairman Andrew Hilditch said, ''The side for the Commonwealth Bank Chappell Hadlee Trophy recognises the performances of the team during the ICC World Cup earlier this year and their continued success in October's one-day series in India.

''The team produced consistent performances during these two tournaments and played fantastic cricket.

''James Hopes retains his place after impressive performances in the series in India and his good form since returning from injury, while Brad Haddin has also been rewarded for his amazingly strong start to the interstate season.

''After making a huge impact at the World Cup earlier this year, Shaun Tait also has been brought back into the squad after having fully recovered from injury,'' he said.

The squad: 1. Ricky Ponting (captain), 2. Adam Gilchrist (vice-captain), 3.

Nathan Bracken, 4. Michael Clarke, 5. Brad Haddin, 6. Matthew Hayden, 7. Brad Hogg, 8. James Hopes, 9. Michael Hussey, 10.

Mitchell Johnson, 11. Brett Lee, 12. Andrew Symonds, 13. Shaun Tait.


Please Wait while comments are loading...