TN gain three points, Saurashtra one from drawn match

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Dec 4 (UNI) Tamil Nadu's left spinners R Ramkumar and C Suresh did the star turn with the ball but Saurashtra after conceding a first innings lead of 320, forced a draw scoring 105 for 2 following on when the match ended after the eighth mandatory over on the fourth and final day of the Elite Group A Super League Ranji trophy championship match here today.

There was little doubt that an outright win was out of Tamil Nadu's grasp, But there was some high drama at the M A Chidambaram stadium as Saurashtra resuming their first innings at the overnight 120-5, were skittled out for 211 by Ramkumar who captured four wickets for 28 runs and Suresh who claimed 3-19. And as Saurashtra collapsed from 211-6 in the space of 14 balls, it was Suresh who triggered the calamity taking three wickets without conceding a run. He dismissed Rakesh Dhruv (46, 64 balls, five four, one six) and K Makhwana(0). His third wicket came after captain Badrinath, bowling off spin, got rid of south paw Ravindra Jadeja (33, 19 balls, two fours). The other scorer for Saurashtra was skipper left hander Jayadev Shah (24, 48 balls,four fours, one six).

Ravinder Jadeja and Rakesh Dhruv added 72 runs for the seventh wicket for Saurashtra in 19.4 overs before their first innings ended 105 minutes after the day's play began.

In their second innings, Saurashtra made 105-2. Sagar Jogiani remained not out on 46 off 193 balls, with six fours and Chateswar Pujara also unbeaten on 47 off 79 balls with seven fours.

Tamil Nadu gained three points to increase their tally to a healthy 7 and Saurashtra got one to rise theirs to 10, from four matches each.

Brief Scores: Tamil Nadu 531-2 decl, Saurashtra 211 in 69.2 overs (Jayadev Shah 24, Ravinder Jadeja 33, Rakesh Dhruv 46, R Ramkumar 4-58, C Suresh 3-19) and 105-2 in 64 overs (Sagar Jogiani 46 n.o, C Pujara 47 n.o).


Please Wait while comments are loading...