Mongia will boost Chandigarh Lions' batting

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Panchkula, Dec 4 (UNI) A rejuvenated Chandigarh Lions, led by Chris Cairns of New Zealand will take on Hyderabad Heroes, skippered by Inzamam ul Haq in the seventh match of Indian Cricket League Twenty20 Tournament tomorrow at the Tau Devi Lal Sports Complex in Sector 3 here.

"Inclusion of all-rounder Dinesh Mongia against Hyderabad Heroes will make difference. He is former Indian opener, a utility bowler and excellent fielder. He has recovered from thumb injury he sustained during a practice match in Delhi. We missed him in our earlier matches," said Chandigarh Lions coach Balwinder Singh Sandhu.

Showing his right thumb at Hotel Mountview before going for practice in Panchkula, Dinesh Mongia said "stitches have been removed. Let's see tomorrow." It will be a crucial match for teams as they have one win and one defeat each in the event carrying 4 million US Dollar prize money.

Hinting that batting can be shuffled, Balwinder Sandhu said "as we are working on different combinations, batting order will be changed." Asked who will be dropped to include Dinesh Mongia, Sandhu said "I cannot disclose. It will be done as the situation demands." There is no problem in bowling or fielding. Only batting, specially in the middle order, is cause for worry.

Chandigarh Lions are working to get Inzamam out early in the innings. He is a leading scorer with 76 runs from two innings.

Besides, Dinesh Mongia, New Zealender Chris Cairns, Imran Farat, New Zealand batsman Hamish Marshall, South African all rounder Andrew Hall, New Zealander Derryl Tuffey and all-rounder Reetinder Sodhi are some of the stars in Chandigarh Lions line-up.

Led by Inzamam, Hyderabad Heroes team is studded with Abdul Razzak, Azhar Mehmood (Pakistan), Chris Harris, Nicky Boje are the prominent foreign players in their rank.

Teams: Hyderabad Heroes (from): Inzamam ul Haq, Anirudh Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Abdul Razzak, Azhar Mehmood, Syed Shahubuddinl, Chris Harris, Nicky Boje, Sutart Binny, Inder Shekhar Reddy, Vinay Kumar, Ibrahim Khaleel, Kaushik Reddy, Bheema Rao, Alferd Absolom, Shashank Nag, PS Niranjan, Baburao Yadav, and Zakaraia Zuffri.

Chandigarh Lions (from): Chris Cairns, Imran Farat, Dinesh Monigia, Hamish Marshall, Sarabjeet Singh, TP Singh, Andrew Hall, Reetinder Singh Sodhi, Rajesh Sharma, Ishan Malhotra, Daryl Tuffey, Sumit Kalia, Chetan Sharma, Love Ablish, Bipul Sharma, Karanveer Singh, Amit Uniyal, Gaurav Gupta and Harpreet Singh.


Please Wait while comments are loading...