Five crorepati candidates do not have PAN

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ahmedabad, Dec 4 (UNI) Out of the 51 'crorepati' candidates, contesting the Assembly Elections in the first phase on December 11, five, three from BJP and one each from Congress and BSP, do not have Permanent Account Numbers (PAN).

As per the data filed by the candidates, as many as 49 candidates, 20 from BJP, 18 Congress, 8 from BSP and 3 from JD-U, have assets of more than Rs 10 lakh but do not have PAN.

Candidates, who do not have PAN include Dilip Sangani (BJP) from Amreli, Mahendrasinh Sarvaiya (BJP) Palitana, Bharatiben Rathod (BJP) from Kamrej, Mahipatsinh Jadeja (BSP) from Babra and Dinesh Parmar (INC) from Jamnagar Rural.

Energy Minister in the Narendra Modi Government Saurabh Dalal, who has filed his nomination from the Botad constituency, tops the list of crorepati candidates with his combined assets totalling over Rs 652,956,599.

Chandravadan Pithavala, Congress rival of Dalal, also a crorepati businessman in Botad near Bhavangar, has property worth over Rs 4.09 crore, including cold cash, bank deposits, shares-debentures, insurance policies, jewellery, vehicles, houses and plots of land.

BJP rebel-turned-Congressman Dhiru Gajera, who hails from a diamond business family of Surat, has amassed wealth of Rs 189,077,128 while Kirit Patel, BJP candidate from Olpad near Surat, has declared assets of over Rs 2 crore.


Please Wait while comments are loading...