Cabinet approves four six-laning projects

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Nov 30 (UNI) The Centre today approved a proposal for the six-laning of the existing four-lane Panipat-Jalandhar section on NH-1 in Punjab and Haryana under Phase-V of the National Highways Development Project (NHDP).

In addition, three other projects for six-laning under the NHDP Phase-V were approved. These are: Gurgaon-Kotputli-Jaipur (226 Km) on NH-8 in Haryana and Rajasthan, Surat-Dahisar section (239 km) on NH-8 in Gujarat and Maharashtra, and Chilkaluripet-Vijayawada section (82 km) on NH-5 in Andhra Pradesh.

The estimated cost of the four projects is Rs 5,940 crore.

Road Transport and Highways Minister T R Baalu said these projects, aggregating to 840 km, would be implemented by the National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) on Design, Build, Finance and Operate (DBFO) basis through Public Private Partnership.

Mr Baalu said the projects would be awarded by December and were targeted to be completed by 2010.


Please Wait while comments are loading...