Congress releases complete list, axes horticulture minister

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Shimla, Nov 25 (UNI) The Congress Party today released its complete list of candidates for the remaining 65 assembly constituencies of Himachal Pradesh where elections are to be held in the second phase on December 19.

In all, there are 16 new faces, including three associate members who have been named party candidates for the first time and a woman candidate in Ruma Kaundal from Jawalamukhi constituency of Kangra district.

While state Horticulture Minister Singhi Ram, representing Rampur assembly segment in Shimla district, has been replaced with Nand Lal, state Assembly Deputy Speaker Dharam Pal Singh has been replaced by Prakash Chand Karad from Arki constituency.

In all, six women candidates in Vidya Stokes, Chandresh Kumari, Asha Kumari, Anita Verma and Vidya Zar, besides Ms Kaundal have been fielded by the party in the assembly elections.

The list was released here by state general secretary Kuldeep Singh Rathore who said party's four associate members in the Assembly out of a total of five have also been re-nominated.

While Kuldeep Singh Pathania from Bhatiyaat, Biru Ram Kishore from Geharwin, Sohan Lal from Kasumpti and Subhash Manglet from Chopal have been named the party candidates, Mr Rakesh Verma from Theog constituency in Shimla district has been denied the ticket, he said.

Mr Rathore said following senior party leaders Sat Mahajan, Sukh Ram, and Chander Kumar's decision not to contest elections in future, the party has fielded their kins Mr Ajay Mahajan (Nurpur), Mr Anil Sharma (Mandi) and Neeraj Bharti (Guler).

The party has fielded Mr Pawan Nayyar from Chamba assembly constituency following state Animal Husbandry Minister Harsh Mahajan's decision to opt out from the fray due to personal reasons, he said.

Here picking up from first line of DR 52.


Please Wait while comments are loading...