Four Nation women Shastri hockey tourney from December 1

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Nov 24 (UNI) To make the game more popular among the women in the country, the inagural four-nation Lal Bahadur Shastri women hockey tournament will be held here from December 1 to 5.

Apart from hosts India, other teams taking part in this round robin league tournament are Italy, Azerbaijan and Malaysia.

Shastri hockey tournament committee chairman Kamal Chaudhary told newspersons here last evening that there was a big demand from the fans to host such a tounament.

''You may call it Chak De India effect,'' Chaudhary said adding that the tournament will be an annual event.

''We are hopeful that his will not only boost the game but also provide crucial exposure to Indian team before the Olympic qualifier.'' The schedule of the tournament: Dec 1: Azerbaijan vs Italy, India vs Malaysia.

Dec 2: Azerbaijan vs Malaysia,India vs Italy.

Dec 3: Rest day Dec 4: India vs Azerbaijan, Italy vs Malaysia.

Dec 5: 3rd vs 4th, Final : 1st vs 2nd.


Please Wait while comments are loading...