Orissa restrict Andhra Pradesh to 179

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Cuttack, Nov 23 (UNI) A superb bowling by medium pacer P Jayachandra (six for 37) restricted Andhra Pradesh to 179 all out in the opening day of the Ranji Trophy ( Elite Group-B) league match at the Barbati Stadium here today.

Andhra Pradesh, who won the toss and elected to bat, suffered a major jolt in the face of consistent bowling by all rounder P Jayachandra, who claimed maximum six wickets followed by international discard Debasis Mohanty who captured two wickets conceding 34 runs.

For the visitors G Shankar Rao emerged as the highest scorer with 73 runs to his credit followed by Y Ganeswar Rao 28 runs.

In reply to the first innings score of 179, the hosts scored 21 runs for no loss with Bikash Swarup Pati and test discard Shib Sundar Das remaining not out with 5 and 10 runs respectively.

Brief Score: Andhra Pradesh :1st Innings 179 all out in 79.3 overs (G Shankar Rao 73, Y Ganeswar Rao 28, P Jayachandra 6 for 37, Debashis Mohanty 2 for 34) Orissa :1st Innings 21 for no loss in 8 overs( B S Pati 5 and S S Das 10).


Please Wait while comments are loading...