ACUK to honour 12 Umpires

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Nov 23 (UNI) Association of Cricket Umpires Karnataka (ACUK) will honour 12 umpires, including eight Test umpires (three pasthomusly) and four seninor umpires from the State, during 'ACUK-Shriram Group Umpires Day' on November 25.

The test umpires to be honoured included B Sathyaji Rao, S N Hanumantha Rao, V Vikram Raju, A L Narasimhan, A V Jayaprakash and pasthomously S K Raghunatha Rao, M G Subramaniam and M V Nagendra.

Senior Umpires C A Krishnamurthy, S Prabhakar, R Ananth and N S Raghu Prasad, would also be feted.

ACUK was formed in 1974 by a group of Umpires to felicitate the Karnataka Team winning the prestigious Ranji Trophy for the first time in the State's history. 'Umpires Day' was celebrated to commemorate entry of first Karnataka Umpire in a test match. It was late Capt. M G Vijayasarthy who made test debut at Mumbai in November 1948 in a test match between India and West Indies.

ACUK has also arranged a state level inter-high school cricket quiz competition to mark the occassion to bring awarness among the school children on cricket and the laws of the game, according to a release from ACUK Hon. Secretary M Sreenivasa Murthy here today.

Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) President Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadiyar, Hon. Secretary Brijesh Patel, International Umpire (retd) Ronald D'Souza, M/s Shriram Group Companies Executive Director would be the guest of honour at the function.


Please Wait while comments are loading...