Wildcarder Mayur Vasant bags double crown

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Nov 22 (UNI) A fantastic performance by wildcard entrant Mayur Vasant of Maharashtra saw him bag the 45+ singles title in the GVK AISTA Senior National Ranking Tennis Tournament played at Practennis, Andheri here today.

He also triumphed in the doubles category when he along with his partner D S Ramarao beat the pair of M Prakash of Andhra Pradesh and P K Gupta of Uttar Pradesh 6-1, 6-1 to make it a sweet double for him.

While in the other category, Arvinder Chatwal of Delhi also showed a spectacular performance in 55+ category. Partnering A Rambabu of Andhra Pradesh they created a huge upset when they dumped the top seed T A P N Rao of Andhra Pradesh and K R Krishna of Andhra Pradesh 6-1, 6-1 in the finals. Arvinder Chatwal later also entered the singles finals in the same category upsetting the applecart of the top seed Dr V Ram Mahon Rao of Andhra Pradesh 6-2, 3-6, 6-4.

In the 65 + category, Maharashtra's S Parekh also complimented Chatwal's performance when he won the doubles final partnering S Bhagat to defeat the pair of H D Bhalal and G K Sangameshwar of Andhra Pradesh 6-1, 6-4. He also entered the finals of the 65+ singles when he beat Ramesh Gautam (UP) in straight sets at 6-4, 6-3. The finals will be played tomorrow.

Results: 45+ singles: (finals): WC- Mayur Vasant (MAH) bt 2- Srinivas Reddy (AP) 6-1, 6-1. (semifinals): WC- Mayur Vasant (MAH) bt 1- R E Sudarshan Rao (AP) 6-0, 6-0; 2- V. Srinivas Reddy (AP) bt Punit K Gupta (UP) 6-2, 6-0.

55+ singles: (semifinals): WC- Arvinder Chatwal (DEL) bt 1- Dr V Ram Mahon Rao (AP) 6-2, 3-6, 6-4; A R Rao (AP) bt K Radhakrishnan (AP) 6-1, 6-1.

65+ singles: (semifinals): 1- S Parekh (MAH) bt 3-Ramesh Gautam (UP) 6-4, 6-3; 4- H D Balal (KAR) bt 2- C Radhakrishnan (TN) 6-1, 6-2.

45+ doubles (finals): D. S. Ramarao (MAH)/ Mayur Vasant (MAH) bt M Prakash (AP)/ P K Gupta (UP) 6-1, 6-1.

55+ doubles (finals): WC- A Rambabu (AP)/A Chatwal (DEL) bt 1- T A P N Rao (AP)/ K R Krishna (AP) 6-1, 6-1.

65+ doubles (finals): Q2- S Parekh (MAH)/ S Bhagat (MAH) bt WC- H D Bhalal (AP)/ G K Sangameshwar (AP) 6-1, 6-4.


Please Wait while comments are loading...