Punjab Police retains All India Police Lawn Tennis title

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Nov 22 (UNI) Defending champions, Punjab Police has won the 8th All India Police Lawn Tennis Tournament organised by ITBP at Shanti Tennis Academy, Dehradun from November 12 to 16.

The Punjab Police team under the able leadership of ADGP S M Sharma and comprising of Dr Arun Oraon, IPS, DIG, M F Farooqui, IPS, Dr Arun Sharma and Ashish Kapoor PPS, continued their dominance in all categories of the championship and in the finals beat CRPF by a convincing margin of 2-0. The victorious team members arrived here today.

In the team championship, captain of the Punjab Police team Mr S M Sharma beat Dr Kenjom (CRPF) 6-1, 7-5. In the doubles category once again Mr Sharma alongwith Ashish Kapoor beat Dr Kenjom and R Dutta 2-6,6-4 (10-3) in a keenly contested match.

In the open singles final Ashish Kapoor of Punjab Police beat Dr Kenjom (CRPF) 8-2. The open doubles event final was abandoned due to paucity of time and both Punjab Police and CRPF were declared joint winners.

Mr Sharma, also won the veteran singles title by defeating Madhusudan Rao IPS of Andhra Police 8-7.

The 40 plus category doubles title was won by Dr Arun Sharma of Punjab Police and Madhusudan Rao of AP Police, who defeated S R Upadhay, IPS and Tukyandi, IPS of Tamil Nadu Police. The mixed doubles event, which was introduced for the first time was also won by Mr S M Sharma in partnership with Mrinalini of Uttrakhand.

In all, 19 police teams from different states and Central Police Organisations participated in the tournament. The Punjab police which was placed in group 'A' alongwith NSG, SSB and ITBP, has won this tournament for the sixth time and for the fourth time in a row.


Please Wait while comments are loading...