Wildcard entrants steal show in national tennis tournament

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Nov 21 (UNI) A superb performance by wildcard entrant Mayur Vasant of Maharashtra saw him storm into the semis when he dumped K Mehar Parekh in straight sets 6-0, 6-1 in 45+ singles of GVK AISTA Senior National Ranking Tennis Tournament played at Practennis, Andheri here today.

The 46-year-old continued his good form in the doubles semi-finals also when he with D S Ramarao defeated their rivals V S Narasimhan (Mah) and M Likhite (Mah) at 6-0, 6-1.

Another wildcard entrant Arvinder Chatwal of Delhi was in blazing form when he defeated his statesman C R Gangadharan in straight sets 6-3, 6-3 to enter the 55+ singles semi-finals. Same was the case when he played the doubles, partnering A. Rambabu (AP) he defeated the local duo of D. S. Ramarao and Dr. A. Pendarkar 4-6, 6-2, 6-2 to reach the final.

Andhra Pradesh's A R Rao caused the upset of the day in the same category when he defeated the second seed T.A.P.N. Rao in a three set thriller. The match lasted almost for three hours but eventually the underdog A R Rao emerged over his opponent.

Results: 45+ singles: (Quarterfinals): 1-R. T. Sudarshan Rao (AP) bt Paul Manohar (AP) 6-4, 6-2; WC-Mayur Vasant (MAH) bt K. Mehar Parekh (AP) 6-0, 6-1; Punit. K. Gupta (UP) bt K. Koteshwara Rao (AP) 6-3, 6-4; 2-V. Drinivas Reddy (AP) bt M. Suresh (AP) 6-3, 6-3.

55+ singles: (Quarterfinals): 1-V. Ram Mohan Rao bt WC-D.S. Rama Rao (MAH) 6-3, 6-3; WC-Arvinder Chatwal (DEL) bt C. R. Gangadharan (DEL) 6-3, 6-3; K. Radhakrishnan Murthy (AP) bt D. S. Rao (MAH) 6-4, 6-2; A. R. Rao (AP) bt 2-T. A. P. N. Rao (AP) 4-6, 6-3, 6-2.

65+ singles: (Quarterfinals): 1-S. Parekh (MAH) bt D. Madava Murthy (AP) 6-1, 6-2; 3-Ramesh Gautam (UP) bt 8-K. Sheshadrinath (AP) 6-2, 6-1; Nagaraja Rao (KAR) bt 4-H. B. Balal (KAR) 6-4, 7-6 (4); 2-C.

Radha Krishnan bt B. Somalingam (AP) 6-4, 3-6, 7-5.

45+ doubles (semifinals): Q4-D. S. Ramarao (MAH)/ Mayur Vasant (MAH) bt Q2-V. S. Narasimhan (MAH)/ M. Likhite (MAH) 6-0, 6-1; 1-R. V. R.

Raju (AP)/ G. K. Raju (AP) bt 3-M. Prakash (AP)/ P. K. Gupta (UP) 4-6, 6-1, 6-2.

55+ doubles (semifinals): WC-A. Rambabu (AP)/ A. Chatwal (DEL) bt WC-D. S. Ramarao (MAH)/Dr. Ajit Pendarkar (MAH) 4-6, 6-2, 6-2; 1-T.

A. P. N. Rao (AP)/K. R. Krishna (AP) bt Dr. V. Ram Mahon Rao (AP)/A.

S. N. Raju (AP) 6-3, 6-0.

65+ doubles (semifinals): Q2-S. Parekh (MAH)/S. Bhagat (MAH) bt 1-C.

B. Raju (AP)/R. Gautham (UP) 6-2, 6-3; WC-H. D. Bilal (AP)/Someshwar (AP) bt 2-M. Murthy/Dr. V. P. Prasad (AP) 6-3, 3-6, 6-1.


Please Wait while comments are loading...