Thirty teams for All India inter Rly basketball

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Nov 19 (UNI) Twenty teams in the men's and ten in the women's section would be vying for honours in the All India Railway basketball championship to be held at the Jawaharlal Nehru indoor stadium here from tomorrow to November 26.

Announcing this at a press conference here along with Senior Sports Officer and former hockey Olympian V Baskaran, Secretary Southern Railway Sports Association(SRSA) and Chief Commercial Manager Southern Railway S Anantharaman said the teams in the men's section include defending champions South Central Railway, astern Railway, Calcutta Port Trust, Central Railway, Chittaranjan Loco Works, Diesel Locomotive Works, Diesel Mechanisation Works, Integral Coach Factory, Metro, Northern Railway, North East Railway, North Fronteier Railway, North West Railway, Rail Coach Factopry, Railway Board, Research Design and Standard Organisation, Southern Railway, Southern Central Railway, South East Central Railway, Western Railway and West Central Railway.

In the women's section defending champion Southern Railway, Central Railway, Eastern Railway, Northern Railway, North Frontier Railway, South Central Railway, South East Central Railway, South West Railway, Western Railway and West Central Railway will be participating. Internationals Geethu Anna Jose, P Anitha, M Meenalatha, Ajnu Arnika, Seema, Manisha and Sophy Sam will be seen in action.

The Indian Railways teams for the national championship slated to be held in Pondicherry in December, would be selected from this tournament, Mr Baskaran said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...