K'taka: Confidence motion fails for the first time

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Nov 19: For the first time in the history of Karnataka legislature, a government has failed in winning the vote of confidence though it was not put to vote.

BJP which received a severe blow from Janata Dal (Secular) when it backout in extending support during the vote of confidence moved by the Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa in the specially convened legislative session today.

Earlier, Confidence motion were moved four times and all have been won by respective Chief Ministers.

Mr Yeddyurappa cut short the debate on the motion to announce his resignation on the floor of the house even before the motion could be put to vote. Speaker Krishna announced that Mr Yeddyurappa's announcement gave enough indication that he had lost the confidence of the Assembly and adjourned the house sine die.

On January 17, 1984 the then Chief Minister late Ramakrishna Hegde had sought confidence vote fearing his government may fall due to dissident activites in the Janata party. He won the motion with 128 votes in favour and BJP extending outside support.

Former Chief Minister S Bangarappa moved confidence motion on October 26, since he replaced late Veerendra Patil, who was uncermonously removed by the Party High Command. Despite walkout drama, Mr Bangarappa government survived by winning the confidence.

Late Chief Minister J H Patel, who took over the reins after Mr Deve Gowda became Prime Minister had moved confidence motion as the dissident activities was at its peak following dismissal of Mr Ramakrishna Hegde from the party by Mr Gowda. In the midst of Congress and BJP staging walkout, Patel won by receiving 135 votes.

The latest being confidence motion moved by Mr Kumaraswamy after withdrawing support to Dharma Singh led Congress-JD(S) coalition government and forming government with BJP. Mr Kumaraswamy won the motion with a thumping majority of 138 members voting in his favour.


Please Wait while comments are loading...