Eight IAS officers chargesheeted for corruption in Orissa

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhubaneswar, Nov 19 (UNI) The vigilance department has submitted chargesheet against eight IAS officers of Orissa cadre on the allegation of corruption charges and acquisition of disproportionate assets, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik said here today.

To a question of Mr Sitakant Mohapatra (Cong), Mr Patnaik said in the Assembly that investigation against eight other IAS officers was in progress.

The eight officers, chargesheeted by the vigilance department, were Mr Santosh Kumar Mishra, Mr Ramesh Charan Behera(both serving), Mr Madan Mohan Mohanty, Mr Phani Bhushan Das, Mr Chittaranjan Pal, Mr Sanjiv Kumar Ray, Mr Balram Rout and Mr Arunodaya Swain (all retired).

The Chief Minister said the government had made a supplementary provision of Rs 20 lakh for the setting up two special courts, one each at Cuttack and Bhubaneswar to deal with the caess against the public figure and senior officials.

Orissa High Court, he said, had been requested to suggest staffing pattern for the special courts and send a panel of names for appointment as judges besides a panel of names of judicial officers of the rank of Additional District Judge for appointment of Authorised Officers under the Act.


Please Wait while comments are loading...