Jalaj's 50 guides MP to win against J

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jammu, Nov 18 (UNI) An unbeaten knock of 57 runs by Jalaj Sexsena helped visitors Madhya Pradesh side to an easy victory by four wickets against hosts Jammu and Kashmir on the final day of the Ranji Trophy Plate Group B match here today.

Resuming at their overnight score of 18 runs for the loss of three wickets, Madhya Pradesh chased the target of 131 runs in 39.4 overs, still having four wickets in hand.

Jalaj Sexsena, who was the crease yesterday, kept the scoreboard rotating and did not let MP face the pressure from the J&K seamers.

His 57 runs (7x4) off 87 deliveries, ensured that Madhya Pradesh looked confident despite losing early wickets in the morning on grassy top.

Shantanu Pitre (12), Rahul Bakshi (10) and MP skipper Brijesh Tomar (11) were the outgoing batsmen from MP side on the final day as Murtaza Ali accompanied Jalaj and the duo punished the J&K bowlers for a relaxed win.

However, pacer Sameer Ali, who crippled the MP innings with a three-wicket haul yesterday, remained dry in his today's spells but the spinners struck for the hosts in the pre lunch session.

Right arm spinner, Sameer Khajuria was given the ball for the first time in the match and he clicked twice whereas another spinner Jagtar Singh managed to grab one wicket.

SCOREBOARD: Jammu and Kashmir (1st inning) : 281 MP (1st inning) : 242 J&K (2nd inning) Ian Dev Singh b Shantanu Pitre 16 Sajjad Shiekh c Naman Ojha b Anand Rajan 01 Inderjeet Singh LBW Shantanu Pitre 00 Majid Dar LBW Anand Rajan 00 Hardeep Singh c Naman Ojha b Sunil Dholpure 14 Sarabjeet Singh LBW Anand Rajan 00 Vijay Sharma c Naman Ojha b Anand Rajan 04 Samiullah Beigh b Sunil Dholpure 00 Sameer Khajuria b Anand Rajan 03 Sameer Ali b Anand Rajan 32 Jagtar Singh not out 03 Extras 18 Total (in 31.1 overs) 91(all out) Bowling : Santanu Pitre 7-4-22-2, Anand Rajan 15.1-2-45-6, Sunil Dholpure 7-1-15-2 MP (batting) Naman Ojha b Sameer Ali 4 Jalaj Sexsena not out 57 Jatin Sexsena b Sameer Ali 0 Devender Bundela LBW Sameer Ali 0 Shantanu Pitre b Jagtar Singh 12 Rahul Bakshi b Sameer Khajuria 10 Brijesh Tomar b Ian Dev Singh 11 Murtaza Ali not out 29 Extras 10 Total (in 39.3 overs) 132(for 6 wickets) bowling: Samiullah 11.3-2-40-0, Sameer Ali 9-2-34-3, Jagtar Singh 5-2-8-1, Vijay Sharma 4-2-6-0, Sameer Khajuria 6-1-29-2, Indrejeet Singh 2-0-5-0, Majid Dar 2-0-5-0.

FOW: 1/7, 2/15, 3/15, 4/41, 5/65, 6/85.

Result: MP won the match by 4 wickets.


Please Wait while comments are loading...