Ritwik, Joshna storm into Western India squash open finals

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Nov 17 (UNI) Men's and women's top seeds Ritwik Bhattacharya and Joshna Chinappa fashioned convincing wins to storm into the finals in the 64th CCI-Western India Open Squash Championship at the CCI here today.

India No. 2 Bhattacharya warmed up for his title clash against second seed Sandeep Jangra with an impressive 9-1, 9-4, 9-3 win over former National champion Manish Chotrani in a semi-final that lasted just 32 minutes.

Bhattacharya committed rare blemishes and sealed his win with a firm finish that reflected the form he is currently enjoying as he aims to break into the top 30 in the world by next year.

Defending champion Joshna Chinappa will take on second seed Mandy Kennedy of England following easy women's semi-final wins.

While Chinappa demolished Shweta Yadav 9-0, 9-1, 9-0, Kennedy took 37 minutes to overcome Saumya Karki 9-6, 9-4, 9-6 in the other semi-final.

Arch rivals Mahesh Mangaonkar and Abhishek Pradhan fashioned fluent wins to set up a mouth-watering boys'under-15 title clash.

Top seed Mangaonkar raced to a 9-1, 9-6, 9-1 win in the semi-finals, while No. 2 Pradhan prevailed over Caran Arora 9-6, 9-0, 9-0.

Friends off court and school mates at Don Bosco, Borivali, Mangaonkar and Pradhan were recent recipients of the gold medal for Maharashtra in the Junior Nationals at Ajmer. Both also were arch rivals in the under-13 category not too long ago before making the transition to the under-15 category.

Pradhan set himself up for a double crown after reaching the boys' under-17 final as well with a 9-8, 9-4, 9-3 win over Mangaonkar.

Boys' under-13 top seed Arjun Kochhar set up another much awaited final with second seed Raghav Mehrotra following hard earned semi-final wins. Kochchar ignored the loss of a tight third game that stretched into extra points to beat No. 4 Yohan Pandole 9-3, 9-4, 8-10, 9-1, while Mehrotra overcame No. 3 Ishaan Advani 9-3, 9-4, 8-10, 9-3 in similar fashion.

Results: Men's Open (SF): Sandeep Jangra bt Vikram Malhotra 9-4, 9-0, 9-1; Ritwik Bhattacharya bt Manish Chotrani 9-1, 9-4, 9-3.

Women (SF): Joshna Chinappa (Chennai) bt Shweta Yadav 9-0, 9-1, 9-0; Mandy Kennedy (England) bt Saumya Karki 9-6, 9-4, 9-6.

Boys U-19 (SF): Aditya Jagtap bt Aditya Gupta 9-2, 9-0, 9-1; Vikram Malhotra bt Abhinav Sinha 9-0, 9-0, 9-1.

Boys U-17 (SF): Abhishek Pradhan bt Mahesh Mangaonkar 9-8, 9-4, 9-3.

Boys U-15 (SF): Abhishek Pradhan bt Caran Arora 9-6, 9-0, 9-0; Mahesh Mangaonkar bt Vrishabh Kotian 9-1, 9-6, 9-1.

Boys U-13 (SF): Arjun Kochhar bt Yohan Pandole 9-3, 9-4, 8-10, 9-1; Raghav Mehrotra bt Ishaan Advani 9-3, 9-4, 8-10, 9-3.

Boys U-11 (SF): Sandeep Paswan bt Rajat Agarwal 3-9, 9-4, 9-7, 10-8; Yohan Pandole bt Yohan Surti 9-1, 9-0, 9-5.

Girls U-19 (SF): Urvashi Joshi bt Namrata Purohit 9-7, 9-0, 2-9, 6-9, 9-2; Girls U-15 (SF): Saumya Karki bt Vasha Pandey 9-0, 9-0, 9-0; Namrata Purohit bt Urvashi Joshi 9-2, 9-4, 9-1.

U-9: Ivan Phillip bt Siddhant Iyer 9-4, 9-10, 9-4, 9-3; Ben Kennedy bt Dev Variani 9-4, 4-9, 9-7, 9-4.

Professionals (Final): C. Gomez (Mexico) bt Rohit More 9-6, 4-9, 9-5, 9-5.


Please Wait while comments are loading...