Hooda announces awards for media persons

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Nov 17: Haryana Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda has announced to give annual 11 state-level as well as 140 district level cash awards, totalling Rs 37 lakh to media persons for excellence in journalism.

These awards will be in addition to the already instituted two state level awards, the Chief Minister said while speaking after giving away two State Awards instituted by the Haryana government for excellence in journalism, and five Veer Yagya Dutt Sharma Memorial Awards on behalf of Chandigarh Press Club.

The function was organised jointly by the Haryana government and Chandigarh Press Club yesterday on the occasion of the National Press Day.

Mr Hooda announced that of the 11 new State Level Awards, three awards would be given to the reporters of electronic media and these would be presented in the fields of development, culture and 'sadbhavna'.

He said six other awards would be given away to journalists of print media. These would be in the field of 'sadbhavna', development, investigative reporting, analytical reporting, rural development and for social issues.

Also, one award each would be given to a cameraman of electronic media and a photographer of print media.

Each State Level Award would carry Rs 51,000, a certificate of appreciation, a shawl and a memento.

While announcing District Level Awards, Mr Hooda said there would be seven district level awards of Rs 21,000 each to be conferred upon media persons every year in each district.

These awards would be given in the areas of 'sadbhavna', social issues, development, investigative reporting, analytical reporting, rural development and photography.

The Chief Minister conferred ''Shri Satpal Saini Samriti Sreshtha Patarkarita Puruskar'' upon Mr Hemant Atri, Special Correspondent of Dainik Bhaskar for his feature ''Kokh me Jaghe Beshak Na Ho, Sara Akash Hamara'' highlighting the issue of female foeticide and immense potential of girls to excel in life.

Mr Hooda also conferred ''Shri Rajendra Hooda Samriti Navodit Sreshtha Patarkarita Puruskar'' upon Ms Geetanjali Gayatri, Special Correspondent of The Tribune for her news report, ''Admissions in Government Primary Schools at all time low'' and its impact story entitled as ''No Birth Certificate for Haryana School Admission''.

Each award carried Rs one lakh in cash, a shawl, a book, a certificate.

The Chief Minister gave a cheque for Rs 25 lakh to Chandigarh Press Club. He was also all praise for Veer Yagya Dutt Sharma Trust for instituting the awards.


Please Wait while comments are loading...