BSP announces names of four candidates from Sirmaur district

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Shimla, Nov 17 (UNI) Taking a lead in announcing the names of its candidates, the BSP has announced its candidates for four assembly seats of Sirmaur district in Himachal Pradesh where elections are to be held in the second phase on December 19.

While Manjinder Singh Vikka would contest from Poanta Sahib constituency, Prakash Dutt Bhatia from Pacchhad, Prithvi Singh from Renuka and Raksha Negi from Shillai constituency, party's district incharge Naresh Saran said at a press conference here.

He said the name of the party's candidate from Nahan assembly constituency would be announced later.

"All the four candidates have close association with the people and are well known in their respective constituencies," Mr Saran said.

"While Mr Bhatia and Mr Singh are well known in Pacchhad and Renuka constituencies, Ms Negi has recently resigned from Congress and is a former panchayat pradhan and Mr Vikka is a known banker." The party has decided to field young candidates in the assembly elections, he said.

"BSP is the only party in the state to field a woman candidate from Shillai, which is one of the most backward constituencies of the state," Mr Saran said UNI

Please Wait while comments are loading...