Guj phase I polls: Filing nominations begin on Nov 15

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Gandhinagar, Nov 14: The process for filing nominations in the first phase of Gujarat assembly elections on December 11 to elect 87 members will begin tomorrow with Governor Naval Kishore Sharma scheduled to issue a notification in this regard.

Chief Electoral Officer Vinod Babbar told the sources, ''We have already obtained the Governor's approval for issuing the notification tomorrow.'' The notification will be published under the provisions of the Constitution.

The 87 constituencies, which will go to the polls in the first phase, are spread across Bhuj, Saurashtra and South Gujarat. The last day for filing nominations will be November 22, the scrutiny of the nomination forms will be held the next day, while the last day for withdrawal of the nominations is November 26.

The Central Observers for each of the 87 constituencies will start arriving here from November 21. The second batch of 95 observers, for the second phase of polls on December 16, will start arriving in the state from November 28, according to sources.

The Chief Election Commissioner has called a meeting of senior Gujarat officials, including Principal Secretary (Home) and Director General of Police in Delhi tomorrow to discuss, among other things, the law and order situation in the state ahead of the assembly polls.

The meeting will also discuss measures to check unauthorised movement of liquor into Gujarat from across the borders as the Election Commission is concerned about the illegal transportation of liquor. The Commission has already directed election officers in the coastal districts of the state to keep a watch on the movement of illicit liquor into Gujarat through coastal routes, sources said.

The Election Commission, soon after the announcement of poll dates, had directed the State Government to transfer DGP P C Pande and other senior officials, doubting their impartiality. Some senior BJP and Congress leaders too have faced the Election Commission's ire for violating the Model Code of Conduct. The Commission, in order to ensure fair elections, has also identified and removed ''dead voters'' from the list. That apart, 84 per cent of the electorate now have Electors Photo Identity Cards (EPIC), and in some areas, the EPIC distribution is over 90 per cent.

Further, the Commission has carried out ''vulnerable mapping in the entire state'' and over 3,500 pockets have been identified by the election officials.

''Vulnerability mapping'' is being used for the second time in the country by the Commission. It was used for the first time during the Uttar Pradesh elections. Under the system, the Commission keeps a close watch on areas, where the voting pattern was abnormal in the past, and where the law and order situation is vulnerable.

The Commission is regularly monitoring and even video recording important election related events. Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be used in all the assembly constituencies.

Following are the assembly constituencies where polling will be held on December 11 under the phase one: Abdasa, Mandvi, Bhuj, Mundra, Anjar, Rapar, Dasada, Wadhwan, Limbdi Chotila, Halvad, Dhrangadhra, Morvi, Tankara, Wankaner, Jasdan, Rajkot-I, Rajkot-II, Rajkot Rural, Gondal, Jetpur, Dhoraji, Upleta, Jodiya, Jamnagar, Jamnagar Rural, Kalawad, Jamjodhpur, Bhanvad, Khambhalia, Dwarka, Porbandar, Kutiyana, Mangrol, Manavadar, Keshod, Talala, Somnath, Una, Visavadar, Maliya, Junagadh, Babra, Lathi, Amreli, Dhari, Kodinar, Rajula, Botad, Gadhada, Palitana, Sihor, Kundla, Mahuva, Talaja, Ghogho, Bhavnagar North, Bhavnagar South, Jambusar, Vagra, Broach, Ankleshwar, Jhagadia, Dediapada, Rajpipla, Nijhar, Mangrol, Songadh, Vyara, Mahuva, Bardoli, Kamrej, Olpad, Surat City North, Surat City East, Surat City West, Chorasi, Jalalpore, Navsari, Gandevi, Chikhli, Dangs, Bansda, Bulsar, Dharampur, Mota Pondha, Pardi and Umbergaon.


Please Wait while comments are loading...