Top players for senior national ranking tennis tournament

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Nov 13 (UNI) India's top senior tennis players would be locking horns in the Rs 5 lakh GVK AISTA Senior National Ranking Tennis Tournament, which will be played from November 18 to 23 at Tennis courts of Hansraj Morarjee Public School here.

The event is being sponsored by G V Krishna Reddy President, All India Senior Tennis Association (AISTA), it was announced at a press conference here today.

The event has generated tremendous response from all over India, there have also been few women entries the organisers informed.

This is the first time such a tournament is being organized in Mumbai after the successful conduct of similar events in Hyderabad.

The players have been divided into three categories i.e. Men 45+, Men 55+ and Men 65+ and the singles winners stand to gain Rs 17,000 in each category while doubles winners in each category will win Rs 9,000.

The singles main draw in each category will have 32 entries with 20 direct acceptances, 8 qualifiers and 4 wild cards. The doubles main draw will have 16 entries with 10 direct acceptances, 4 qualifiers and 2 wild cards.

The 45+ category has received 36 entries for the qualifying rounds, while the 55+ category has received 34,and the 65+ has 31 players registered for the qualifying rounds, the organisers further stated at the conference.

Leading the rankings in the 45+ category is Andra Pradesh's R E Sudarshan Rao, with 151 AISTA points followed by state-mates V Srinivasa Reddy, R V Rama, Gujarat's Yogesh Shah. And in the 55+ category, Andra Pradesh's V Ram Mohan Rao leads the standings with 200 points, while in the 65+ category, Maharashtra's S Parekh is the top seed with 155 points followed by C Radhakrishnan of TamilNadu and Ramesh Gautam of UP.

Following are the Seedings (Top 5): (45+ Singles): R E Sudarshan Rao (AP); V Srinivasa Reddy (AP); Yogesh Shah (Gujrat); R V Rama Raju (AP); V Shankar (Del).

(55+ Singles): V Ram Mohan Rao (AP); T A P N Rao (AP); K Radhakrishna Murthy (AP); C R Gangadharan (Del); A Rambabu (AP).

(65+ Singles): S Parekh (Mah); C Radhakrishnan (TN); Ramesh Gautam (UP); H D Ballal (Kar); C B Raju (AP).


Please Wait while comments are loading...