IHF announces sub-jr team for Nehru tourney

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhopal, Nov 13 (UNI) The Indian Hockey Federation today announced an 18-member sub-junior (under-16) team for the 14-day 44th All India Senior Jawaharlal Nehru Tournament getting underway tomorrow at Delhi.

The team is being fielded for the first time as a special case for the tournament, according to Jalaj Chaturvedi who has been named as its manager-cum-coordinator.

''The announcement was made at the conclusion of a coaching camp at the Sports Authority of India Centre in nearby Gaura village. The selectors will decide on the captain tomorrow at Delhi,'' he said.

Seven of the selected players belong to Punjab, five are from Uttar Pradesh, three from Madhya Pradesh, two from Orissa and one from Manipur.

The team: Arpit Chaudhary (MP), Tejasvi Rao (Orissa), both goalkeepers; Paramjit Kumar (Punjab), Amit Prabhakar (UP), Ramashankar (MP), all deep defenders; Deepak Singh (UP), Kotajit Sen (Manipur), Barkat Singh (Punjab), Jokim Minj (Orissa), Jagrup Singh (Punjab), all midfielders; Taranjit Singh (Punjab), Amir Khan (UP), Manpreet Singh (Punjab), Abhinav Walter (UP), Asif S (MP), S Shankar (UP), Simranjit Singh (Punjab) and Prabhdeep Singh (Punjab), all forwards.

While Gundeep Kumar (Punjab) is the chief coach, Lal Thanga (Mizoram) and Basant Singh (Central Reserve Police Force) will be coach and assistant coach respectively.


Please Wait while comments are loading...